All Downhill From Here:
Scene Point Blank's first book

Commemorating ten years of music writing — 2014

After ten years covering independent music, webzine Scene Point Blank commemorates its first decade by publishing this, its first collection of music writing.

Made up of interviews with figures ranging from the legendary (Ian Mackaye, Henry Rollins) through to the new blood (Frank Turner, Polar Bear Club) and everyone in between, it also features a collection of the most memorable album reviews in the zine's history (including PJ Harvey, Jimmy Cliff, Public Enemy and Sufjan Stevens).

A lot of music is made in a decade: Scene Point Blank highlights what you need to hear – now.

Inside the book

Get the book now

On your Kindle

$7 (£4.27 / €5.14)

In print

$15.90 (£9.50 / €11.44)

Please note: all currency conversions are approximate and correct at time of launch.

What people said

"All Downhill From Here marks a decade of SPB's quality music writing, covering everything from hairstyles to rioting. Well-chosen contributors and smart writing."

– Matt Andrews (Scene Point Blank)

Who's in it?

The interviews

Ian Mackaye, Henry Rollins, Larry Livermore, Evan Dando, Jacob Bannon, Rob Miller, Rise Against, Fucked Up, Tiger Army, Strike Anywhere, Anti-Flag, Frank Turner, Ted Leo, John Frusciante, Tim Barry, Thrice, Two Gallants, Blacklisted, Ceremony, Polar Bear Club, Diablo Swing Orchestra, AFI/Blaqk Audio, Russian Circles, Touché Amore, The Ergs!, Modern Life Is War

The album reviews

Altar Of Plagues – Mammal, Anthrax - Worship Music, Baroness – Yellow & Green, Botch - Discography (Reissues), Broken Heroes – This Is Oi!, Caïna – Hands That Pluck, Coheed and Cambria – In Keeping Secrets Of Silent Earth: 3, Condominium – Warm Home, Dan Padilla – As The Ox Plows, Dead To A Dying World - Self Titled, Devin Townsend Project – Deconstruction, Drivin' N Cryin' – Songs From The Laundromat, Earth – Hex: Or Printing in the Infernal Method, Fleet Foxes - Helplessness Blues, Flobots – Survival Story, Foetus – Love, Guns N' Roses – Chinese Democracy, Iceage - You’re Nothing, Iggy & The Stooges – Raw Power (Reissue), J-Zone – Root for the Villain:, Janelle Monáe – The ArchAndroid, Jimmy Cliff - Sacred Fire EP, John Cate & The Van Gogh Brothers – X, Jubilee Gardens – Star Struck, Justin Bieber – Believe (deluxe version), Kongh – Sole Creation, Last Lights – Last Lights, Linkin Park – Minutes To Midnight, Locrian – The Crystal World, Maudlin Of The Well – Bath (reissue), Maudlin Of The Well – Leaving Your Body Map (reissue), Minus the Bear – They Make Beer Commercials Like This, Murder By Death – Red of Tooth and Claw, Muse – The 2nd Law, Pageninetynine – Document #8 (Reissue), Pallbearer – Sorrow And Exctinction, PJ Harvey – White Chalk, Planning For Burial – Leaving, Public Enemy – How You Sell Soul To A Soulless People [...], Rome – Hell Money, STNNNG – The Smoke Of My Will, Sufjan Stevens – Illinois, The National Rifle – Wage Life, Tiltwheel – The Hiatus AKA The High Hate Us, Tomahawk – Oddfellows, Withdrawal – Unknown Misery

The book in numbers

  • 344 pages
  • 115,000+ words of music journalism
  • 25 hand-picked interviews with your favorite musicians
  • 46 of our best in-depth album reviews
  • 2 guest columns by active artists
  • 10 years' worth of Top 30 Records lists