News Bands Plan D, a four-part drum-focused series

Plan D, a four-part drum-focused series

Posted March 14, 2020, 7:50 p.m. in Bands by Loren
Plan D, a four-part drum-focused series

photo by Scott Wilkinson

In 2020, studio project Plan D will release a series of 4 12" releases.

Conceived by producer/engineer Toshi Kasai, the project that sees him “translate” drum beats into a medley of music via the use of triggered analog synths, according to a press release. Or, as Dale Crover of Melvins, Red Kross, and Nirvana puts it: "Plan D is what happens when one of the best recording engineers/producers goes crazy with a bunch of world class drummers."  

The drummers include Crover, plus members of Blondie, Pearl Jam, Big Business, Qui, and more. Hit the jump to learn more about the concept. The first 12" in the series, released by Joyful Noise, is already sold out.

SW tracklist: 

Golden Voyage
Stormy Sea
Distance and Duration
Landing, The Search Begins
Stumbling Through The Jungle
The Mystery of The Limestone Cave

SW drummers:

Clem Burke (Blondie, Eurythmics)

Matt Cameron (Pearl Jam, Soundgarden)

Paul Christensen (Qui, hepa.Titus)

Dale Crover (Melvins, Redd Kross, Nirvana, Hew Time)

Joe Plummer (Mister Heavenly, Cold War Kids, The Shins, Hew Time)

Coady Willis (Big Business, Melvins, The Murder City Devils, Hew Time)

Troy Zeigler (Serj Tankian, Juliette Lewis, Buckethead)

KFAI - Roar of the Underground
Leave a comment
Share this content
Related news

Records Deerhoof 25th anniversary reissues

Posted Oct. 20, 2019, 9:54 a.m. in Records by Loren

The first three Deerhoof albums are being reissued in honor of the band's 25th anniversary. Originally on CD, Holdypaws ...

Shows Mr. Bungle openers for The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny v.2

Posted Sept. 29, 2019, 8:08 p.m. in Shows by Loren

Mr. Bungle, who will briefly rise form the dead in 2020 for shows in California and New York, have announced ...

Tours The Melvins and Redd Kross to tour this fall

Posted May 23, 2019, 9:02 p.m. in Tours by Loren

Later this year The Melvins and Redd Kross will embark on a 10-week tour, joined by Shitkid, for the full ...

More from Bands

Bands Ex US Bombs members form UxB

Posted June 23, 2020, 6:23 p.m. in Bands by Loren

Former members of US Bombs have announced a new group, UxB. The band features Kerry Martinez (Shattered Faith, Bad Luck ...

Bands Dope Walker debut announced

Posted June 21, 2020, 12:17 p.m. in Bands by Loren

Based in Minneapolis, MN and featuring a number of musicians who are recognized for their work elsewhere, Dope Walker has ...

Bands SUNN O))) Life Metal demos on Bandcamp

Posted June 19, 2020, 7:38 p.m. in Bands by Loren

SUNN O))) is sharing production demos from a pre-production studio session in May 2018 that later led to material on ...

KFAI - Root Of All Evil


Looking for the SPB logo? You can download it in a range of styles and colours here:

Click anywhere outside this dialog to close it, or press escape.