News Records Obscura Finish Recording

Obscura Finish Recording

Posted Nov. 15, 2010, 11:32 a.m. in Records by Jon E.
Obscura Finish Recording

Official press release:

Obscura has recently completed work on their brand new album Omnivium and has revealed its tracklisting as: "Septuagint", "Vortex Omnivium", "Ocean Gateways", "Euclidean Elements", "Prismal Dawn", "Celestial Spheres", "Velocity", "A Transcendental Serenade", and "Aevum". Omnivium was recorded at Woodshed Studio in southern Germany with engineer V. Santura (Triptykon, Dark Fortress) and is expected to see a March 2011 release date. Additional album details will be announced shortly.

Obscura drummer Hannes Grossman commented on recording Omnivium: "The recording process was intense and time-consuming, but it brought us many steps forward as musicians both individually and collectively. The songs are still catchy, but there are more epic parts involved, as well as faster and more melodic songs. The extremes of the band's sound extend on all sides, so to say. Expect some things which have never been done before like this in Death Metal!"

Additionally, Grossman is working on his first instructional drum DVD titled "Progressive Concepts for the Modern Metal Drummer." The DVD will feature different chapters about hand/foot techniques, blast beats, advanced double bass drumming, rhythmic modulations, and song and performance tutorials.

Grossman commented on his forthcoming DVD: "After the recordings for Obscura's new album I decided to start filming because the energy of the recording process was still valid. The final motivation came from Nile-drummer George Kollias, with whom we toured in Japan. Thanks again, Bro'! Of course the DVD will not only feature solo and song performances, but also very deep advice about the things that I use, like finger control technique, hybrid techniques, advanced foot technique or odd-time signatures."

KFAI - Roar of the Underground
Leave a comment
Share this content
More from Records

Records SPB exclusive: Gaytheist/Intercourse split EP

It’s a hell of a time right now, so our featured stream for the month of May presents two ...

Records Joyce Manor to share early recordings

Posted May 28, 2020, 12:20 p.m. in Records by Loren

Joyce Manor will be releasing a new compilation collection of early material at the end of the month. Titled Songs ...

Records Exile On Mainstream to release Might debut

Posted May 28, 2020, 11:24 a.m. in Records by Loren

Doom/post-rock duo Might will release a self-titled debut album on July 17. A trailer teases the record below, which ...

KFAI - Root Of All Evil


Looking for the SPB logo? You can download it in a range of styles and colours here:

Click anywhere outside this dialog to close it, or press escape.