News Records 50 Years of Sabbath tribute

50 Years of Sabbath tribute

Posted Sept. 6, 2020, 10:36 a.m. in Records by Loren
50 Years of Sabbath tribute

photo by Loren Green

Magnetic Eye Records has shared two new songs from the upcoming Vol. 4 [Redux], a 10-song Black Sabbath tribute album with covers by Thou, The Obsessed, and more. This week new takes by Spirit Adrift (watch and listen below). Caustic Casanova and Magnetic Eye also shared a song from Best Of Black Sabbath, a related 15-track covers album out soon.

2020 marks the fiftieth anniversary of the band.

Speaking of Spirit Adrift's choice to cover Supernaut, Nate Garrett says:

Black Sabbath is the reason that I am in a band...They are my favorite band, and I love every era. I saw the video for "Paranoid" when I was about 12 years old, and it was game over. Vol. 4 in particular contains quite a few of my favorite moments from the Sabbath catalogue. Many of my tried and true approaches to guitars were inspired by songs on Vol. 4. The music is classic, but still fresh and groundbreaking all these years later.

Vol. 4 [Redux] Track list:

1. THOU - Wheels of Confusion
2. THE OBSESSED - Tomorrow's Dream
3. HIGH REEPER - Changes
5. SPIRIT ADRIFT - Supernaut
6. GREEN LUNG - Snowblind
7. WHORES - Cornucopia
8. TONY REED - Laguna Sunrise
9. HAUNT - St. Vitus Dance
10. ZAKK SABBATH - Under the Sun

Best Of Black Sabbath Track list:

1. EARTHLESS - Never Say Die
2. CAUSTIC CASANOVA - Wicked World
3. SUMMONER - A National Acrobat
4. BLACK ELECTRIC - Sweet Leaf
5. RWAKE - The Rwrit
7. YEAR OF THE COBRA - Planet Caravan
8. HIPPIE DEATH CULT - Fairies Wear Boots
9. LEATHER LUNG - Hole In The Sky
10. MOONER - The Wizard
11. SOLACE - Electric Funeral
12. HOWLING GIANT - Lord of this World
13. ELEPHANT TREE - Paranoid
14. BRUME - Solitude
15. SAINT KARLOFF - Sleeping Village

KFAI - Undead
Leave a comment
Share this content
Related news

Records Spirit Adrift announce Enlightened In Eternity

Posted Aug. 15, 2020, 11:36 a.m. in Records by Loren

Spirit Adrift return with a new 8-song LP on Oct. 16. Titled Enlightened In Eternity, the new album captures an ...

Records 3 song redux EP from Spirit Adrift

Posted June 19, 2020, 10:47 p.m. in Records by Loren

In a day filled with news of charitable new releases, Spirit Adrift announced a new EP, Angel & Abyss Redux, a ...

Records Spirit Adrift's debut to be reissued

Posted Jan. 18, 2020, 8:15 p.m. in Records by Loren

Chained To Oblivion, originally released in 2016 on War Crime Recordings and long out of print, will be reissued on ...

More from Records

Records SPB exclusive: Witness Marker - self-titled

We’re excited to share a full stream of the debut full-length from Pennsylvania punks Witness Marker. The band was ...

Records Engine Kid collection: this RSD

Posted April 10, 2021, 11:14 a.m. in Records by Loren

On the upcoming June 12, 2021 Record Store Day, Souther Lord will release a 6LP box set of Engine Kid ...

Records The Venomous Pinks: live EP

Posted April 10, 2021, 10:46 a.m. in Records by Loren

  The Venomous Pinks have announced a new live EP. Called Based on A True Story, the EP features four live ...

KFAI - Root Of All Evil


Looking for the SPB logo? You can download it in a range of styles and colours here:

Click anywhere outside this dialog to close it, or press escape.