News Labels Equal Vision Recs signs Wild Orchid Children

Equal Vision Recs signs Wild Orchid Children

Posted Sept. 9, 2010, 11:18 a.m. in Labels by Jon E.

Official press release:

Equal Vision Records is pleased to welcome Wild Orchid Children to its roster. The Seattle-based band is comprised of core members, Kirk Huffman (vocals and percussion), Thomas Hunter (guitar), Kyle O'Quin (keys), Andy Lum (drums), Aaron Benson (percussion and effects), and Ryan Van Wierengen (baritone guitar and percussion). Wild Orchid Children will release their debut full-length album, The Wild Orchid Children Are Alexander Supertramp, on Equal Vision Records on November 9, 2010.

With nearly half of the album recorded at The Tank Studio in Black Diamond, WA with Tom Pfaeffle during Spring 2009, Wild Orchid Children took a short break from recording to head out on a five-week tour. Upon returning home, the band learned that Pfaeffle, their dear friend and producer, was fatally wounded. After taking time to heal and collect themselves, the band headed back into the studio in February 2010, with Pfaeffle's sound engineers, determined to finish the album. The Wild Orchid Children Are Alexander Supertramp was later mixed by Chris Common (drummer, These Arms Are Snakes) at The Red Room in Seattle, WA.

Technical, trippy, in-your-face, and mind-numbingly unique, the former members of Gatsby's American Dream and Forgive Durden, have collaborated not only for the music they make but also for the lifestyle they lead. Huffman elaborates, "It's a credo, a conviction, a gathering where there are no rules except to look out for one another."

He concludes, "Everyone is a wild orchid child or has a wild orchid child inside them. It is a way of life, a belief system and an attitude. You are a Wild Orchid Child. I am a Wild Orchid Child. We are The Wild Orchid Children."

The ethereal music of Wild Orchid Children is not meant to be listened to – but to be lived and experienced. And experience it you must.


01. We Are Alexander Supertramp
02. Black Shiny FBI Shoes
03. Gasoline Rainbows (Jesus Is A Black Man)
04. Peyote Coyote
05. Ahead Of Us The Secret
06. Lasers In The Jungle
07. Birth Of A Cabin
08. Martha Washington Goes To War
09. Where The Mexican Boys Go
10. Tree Of Knowledge


KFAI - Roar of the Underground
Leave a comment
Share this content
More from Labels

Labels New Call Me Malcolm on Wiretap

Posted May 9, 2020, 9:50 a.m. in Labels by Loren

Wiretap Records has added Call Me Malcolm to the label's roster, with their label debut set to release next ...

Labels Wiretap + Virginity

Posted May 7, 2020, 5:18 p.m. in Labels by Loren

Florida-based pop-punks Virginity have inked to Wiretap Records for their upcoming Death To The Party EP, due on June 5 ...

Labels Krod Records' fifth year compilation

Posted May 3, 2020, 8:58 a.m. in Labels by Loren

Krod Records, based in Berlin, Germany, is celebrating its fifth anniversary with a fundraising cassette compilation of 9 artists with ...

KFAI - Root Of All Evil


Looking for the SPB logo? You can download it in a range of styles and colours here:

Click anywhere outside this dialog to close it, or press escape.