News MP3s


Top stories

New Lightning Bolt at Adult Swim

Posted Jan. 19, 2020, 1:03 p.m.
New Lightning Bolt at Adult Swim

photo by Nick Sayers

Lightning Bolt, who returned to action with Sonic Citadel (Thrill Jockey) last year, have a new song out now courtest of the Adult Swim Singles. Dubbed "Spaceman," the new song is blunt, noisy, and uptempo and explores the concept of immigration and land ownership.

The band goes into detail with a metaphor about the band Landed, from Providence:

“They were on tour and swung into some small bar in the middle of nowhere,” Lightning Bolt drummer/vocalist Brian Chippendale recounts. “When the singer, Dan St. Jacques, sat down at the bar he jostled some big dude already seated there. The guy, aggravated, says ‘Hey, watch out, man. I’m a local.’ And Dan, unfazed, looks him in the eye and says ‘Wow, you know what? Where I’m from, I’m a local too!’”

Check it out:

SPB ranked Sonic Citadel among our top 25 favorites of 2019. Read that feature here.

( Read more )

New years' comp from Midira Records

Posted Jan. 1, 2020, 3:57 p.m.
New years' comp from Midira Records

photo by Loren Green

To celebrate the new year, Midira Records (Germany) is offering a free compilation available for download.

Titled MMXIX, the mix presents new tracks, radio edits, adn four previously unreleased tracks in the  nearly three hours-total compilation.

Artists include thisquietarmy, Gareth Davis & Duane Pitre, and two Aidan Baker projects.

Track list:
The Star Pillow - Bruno Martino is my Tom Araya 05:20Aidan Baker & Karen Willems - Awel V 05:29Gareth Davis & Duane Pitre - Nótt (Edit) 10:01Alessio Dutto - Rift 08:06Daniel W J Mackenzie & Richard A Ingram - Half Death 11:20øjeRum - Anden Sjæl 05:05Scatterwound - MN (Edit) 08:32Tegh - Turmoil - previously unreleased 09:48Aidan Baker & N - Doppellive (Hidden Track from the "230316 Wuppertal" Set) 10:59thisquietarmy | Dirk Serries | Tom Malmendier - Hell (Edit) 11:08Véhicule - Rites 05:17Open To The Sea - Heavy Like Falling Leaf 06:26Tegh - Unusual Path (Edit) 08:00The Star Pillow - Sad Headbanger (Live @ Moving Noises Festival) - previously unreleased 04:44Gri | Gutman | Mosconi - Maestrale 09:41Véhicule x Tissika - Voilà là (Tissika Reconstruction) - previously unreleased 04:08Transtilla - Achrome 14:10øjeRum x N - Forste Sjæl (NMX) - previously unreleased 24:53

( Read more )

KFAI - Roar of the Underground
More recent headlines

MP3s Beach Slang's "Jolly Liver" for Christmas

Posted Dec. 21, 2019, 2:17 p.m.

Beach Slang's "Jolly Liver" for Christmas

photo by Loren Green

Beach Slang recently shared a new holiday song titled "Jolly Liver," streaming after the bump. The new song precludes a new album, out Jan. 10: The Deadbeat Gang of Heartbreak City (Bridge Nine), with guest ...

MP3s Arbor Christmas time

Posted Dec. 21, 2019, 9:42 a.m.

Arbor Christmas time

photo by Matthew Kadi

An annual Christmas tradition continues for the 20th year in 2019 with the release of Arbor Christmas: Volume 20, a compilation of South Jersey artists available from bandcamp for a name-your-price payment. The compilation features ...

MP3s Free Relapse Records sampler

Posted Dec. 15, 2019, 12:51 p.m.

Free Relapse Records sampler

photo by Rick Rodney

'Tis the season of giving. In that spirit, Relapse Records has shared its annual label sampler, offering 26 tracks fromthe likes of Merzbow, Inter Arma, Ceremony, Full Of Hell, Pinkish Black, Integrity, and more. The ...

KFAI - Root Of All Evil

More recent news

MP3s Ink Bomb cover Bad Religion (for charity)

Posted Dec. 14, 2019, 10:54 a.m. in MP3s by Loren

Ink Bomb cover Bad Religion (for charity)

photo by Matthijs Mekking

Dutch punks Ink Bomb will continue their annual cover for charity events in 2019 by releasing an acoustic cover of Bad Religion's "Cease." The ...

MP3s Fleks release new single

Posted Dec. 13, 2019, 8:12 p.m. in MP3s by Loren

Fleks release new single

photo by Scott Wilkinson

Fleks, from Austria, have shared a new single from their next record -- with is set to release in May 2020 on Dachsund Records (Germany). Get ...

( Read more )

MP3s Out now, listen to the new Gino and the Goons

Posted Dec. 7, 2019, 1:25 p.m. in MP3s by Loren

Out now, listen to the new Gino and the Goons

Founded in 2007, Gino and the Goons are back with another blast of r 'n' r in the form of Off the Rails, releasted on ...

MP3s Say-10 and Smartpunk team up for Fest 18 sampler

Posted Oct. 31, 2019, 2:35 p.m. in MP3s by Loren

Say-10 and Smartpunk team up for Fest 18 sampler

As SPB sits in the airport on layover waiting for a flight to Gainesville, we're sharing news of a Say-10 Records/Smartpunk joint label ...

1) Almost People – Philadelphia2) Baggage – Horseshoe3) Bong Mountain – Waterworld of Warcraft4) The Cryptkeeper Five – 1,000 Keys5) Debt Neglector – Board with the USA6) Divided Heaven – Lifers7) The Eradicator – I’MMA BE ME8) Ghost Party! – Sweet Revenge9) Sammy Kay – Forgotten Ones (full band)10) Keep Flying – Miranda (only on the cassette)11) Little Teeth – Drunk Apostles12) Northbound – Hurt Today13) PHONY – nvr play urself14) Rehasher – Eat the One Percent (only on the cassette)15) Seagulls – Superpop (demo)16) Shehehe – But I’m Tryin Hard17) Suck Brick Kid – Sofa King18) Talk Me Off – Worry Wart19) Teen Agers – Insane20) Überyou – Survivors21) Wolf-Face – All Dogs Go to Hell22) Worlds Scariest Police Chases – Burdened By Stupidity23) Wounded Touch – Excision

( Read more )

MP3s Fall label sampler from Paper + Plastick

Posted Oct. 31, 2019, 1:59 p.m. in MP3s by Loren

Fall label sampler from Paper + Plastick

Paper + Plastick Records has announced a new 14-song label sampler, online for free in both download and streaming format. The fall sampler includes new songs ...

01 DOC HAMMER Hëvy Drügz02 POSTAGE Mail Patterns03 HANS GRUBER AND THE DIE HARDS The Ballad of Burro the Man04 WEST GRAND Here to Stay05 500 MILES TO MEMPHIS Hold On Tight06 AFTER THE FALL Panic Attacks07 PROTAGONIST The Killing Fields08 AIRSTREAM FUTURES Dreams of Narrow Wings09 THE JUKEBOX ROMANTICS Sleepwalk Me Home10 BRUTAL YOUTH Thin-Skinned11 DEVON KAY AND THE SOLUTIONS Yes, I Can't12 WESTBOUND TRAIN Gutter (I Should Start Listening)13 MATT PLESS Nero14 JASON THOMPSON Timezones

( Read more )

MP3s SPB premiere: "Still Thinking Of You" by Wish Granters

Posted Oct. 22, 2019, 1:57 p.m. in MP3s by Loren

SPB premiere: "Still Thinking Of You" by Wish Granters

Wish Granters - s/t

Today we’re debuting a brand new song by Wish Granters, a group featuring Mike Watt, Jamie Morrison, Vince Meghrouni, and Mike "Jimmy" Felix. Combined ...

Wish Granters track listing:
1. Still Thinking of You2. Secrets from God3. You Were Gone4. Gone Too Long5. Already Dead
Photo by Robert Ibarra

( Read more )

MP3s New single from SNST

Posted Oct. 13, 2019, 11:27 a.m. in MP3s by Loren

New single from SNST

The band SNST, featuring Chris Broach (Braid/The Firebird Band) and Sonja Broach -- pronounced "Sunset," by the way -- recently shared a new single online (and ...

( Read more )

News navigation
» Next page
Search news


Looking for the SPB logo? You can download it in a range of styles and colours here:

Click anywhere outside this dialog to close it, or press escape.