News Records Swans share new track, "The Hanging Man"

Swans share new track, "The Hanging Man"

Posted Oct. 12, 2019, 12:46 p.m. in Records by Loren
Swans share new track, "The Hanging Man"

photo by Chris Goyette

Swans, in preparation to release the new double vinyl/double CD album leaving meaning., have shared the  song "The Hanging Man." (Watch it below.)

The upcoming record releases on Oct. 25 on Young God Records and was written and produced by Michael Gira, along with contributions from recent and former Swans, members of Angels of Light, plus guests Anna and Maria von Hausswolff, Ben Frost, The Necks, Baby Dee, and a Hawk and a Hacksaw.

"leaving meaning. is the first Swans album to be released since I dissolved the lineup of musicians that constituted Swans from 2010 - 2017," Gira says of the new effort. "Swans is now comprised of a revolving cast of musicians, selected for both their musical and personal character, chosen according to what I intuit best suits the atmosphere in which I'd like to see the songs I've written presented. In collaboration with me, the musicians, through their personality, skill and taste, contribute greatly to the arrangement of the material. They're all people whose work I admire and whose company I personally enjoy."

In additional Swans and Gira news, Gira is currently on tour in Europe and Swans have announced European dates for 2020, with more dates for North America to be announced later.

SPB had the honor of interviewing Gira back in 2014. Check out the new song here:


25 April - Leipzig DE - Conne Island
26 April - Krems an der Donau AT - Donau Festival at Stadtsaal Krems
28 April - Berlin DE - Festsaal Kreuzberg
29 April - Prague CZ - Divaldo ARCHA Theatre
30 April - Warsaw PL - Progresia
3 May - Stockholm SE - Nalen
4 May - Copenhagen DK - Vega Main Hall
5 May - Hamburg DE - Übel & Gefährlich
8 May - Barcelona ES - Razzmatazz
9 May - Madrid ES - KristonFest at Sala la Riviera
10 May - Porto PT - Hard Club
13 May - Zürich CH - Rote Fabrik
14 May - Milan IT - Santeria Social Club
15 May - Belfort FR - La Poudriere
18 May - Wiesbaden DE - Kulturzentrum Schlachthof
19 May - Paris FR - Le Trabendo
20 May - Amsterdam NL - Paradiso Music Hall
22 May - Brussels BE - AB
23 May - Cologne DE - Gebäude 9
26 May - London UK - EartH
27 May - London UK - EartH

North American tour dates will be announced soon.

Michael Gira embarks on a solo tour with Norman Westberg this week, full details below.


11 Oct - Skanu Mezs Festival - Riga, Latvia
13 Oct - Saint Petersburg, Russia
15 Oct - Moscow, Russia
18 Oct - Athens, Greece
19 Oct - Thessalonica, Greece
23 Oct - Ljubljana, Slovenia
25 Oct - Bucharest, Romania
26 Oct - Cluj, Romania
28 Oct - Warsaw, Poland
29 Oct - Warsaw, Poland
31 Oct - Kiev, Ukraine
1 Nov - Vilnius, Lithuania
2 Nov - Helsinki, Finland

leaving meaning. Track listing:

The Hanging Man
Amnesia - with Anna and Maria von Hausswolff on backing vocals
Leaving Meaning - feat. The Necks
Sunfucker - with Anna and Maria von Hausswolff on backing vocals
Cathedrals of Heaven
The Nub - with Baby Dee on guest vocals. Also feat. The Necks
It's Coming It's Real - feat. Anna and Maria von Hausswolff on backing vocals
Some New Things - digital / CD only
What Is This
My Phantom Limb

KFAI - Roar of the Underground
Leave a comment
Share this content
Related news

Tours Swans' North American dates 2020

Posted Nov. 24, 2019, 10:54 a.m. in Tours by Loren

Following the release of leaving meaning., Swans' fifteenth studio album, the band has announced a North American tour in the ...

Bands Swans Oral History book out now

Posted Sept. 9, 2018, 3:20 p.m. in Bands by Loren

Jawbone Press has recently published a new Swans book titled Sacrifice and Transcendence -- The Oral History. Written by Nick Soulsby ...

Bands Some Swans news

Posted July 7, 2018, 2:18 p.m. in Bands by Loren

Swans will soon reissue Soundtracks for the Blind, originally released in 1996 before the band's hiatus (which lasted until ...

More from Records

Records SPB feature: 24-7 Spyz - The Soundtrack to the Innermost Galaxy

This March, SPB is proud to feature the return of 24-7 Spyz. Check out a full stream of the group ...

Records New Charger single

Posted March 28, 2020, 10:50 a.m. in Records by Loren

Charger has a new double A-side colored vinyl and picture disc coming out on Pirates Press. Titled "Watch Your Back ...

Records Who is Fake Names?

Posted March 25, 2020, 5:49 p.m. in Records by Loren

On May 8, Epitaph Records will release the self-titled debut of Fake Names. The band was formed when childhood friends ...

KFAI - Root Of All Evil


Looking for the SPB logo? You can download it in a range of styles and colours here:

Click anywhere outside this dialog to close it, or press escape.