News Labels Bloodshot announced 25th anniversary comp and shows

Bloodshot announced 25th anniversary comp and shows

Posted Oct. 13, 2019, 8:48 p.m. in Labels by Loren
Bloodshot announced 25th anniversary comp and shows

Bloodshot Records is celebrating its 25th anniversary as a label this year. On Nov. 8 the label will release a new 22-song compilation to mark the occasion. Titled Too Late to Pray: Defiant Chicago Roots, the compilation revisits the concept of the label's first release in 1994, For A Life of Sin: Insurgent Chicago Country, which collected new material from a range of artists in the roots/country scene that Bloodshot highlights.

The new collection includes songs by Robbie Fulks, Brendan Kelly and the Wandering Birds, Jon Langford's Hillbilly Lovechild, and a whole lot more (listed in full below.

The label is hosting two special live shows in Chicago this November as well.

Full Artist and Track listing:

1. Wild Earp & The Free For Alls "The Last Honky Tonk in Chicago"
2. Tammi Savoy & the Chris Casello Combo "If It's News to You"
3. Jon Langford's Hillbilly Lovechild "I Am a Big Town"
4. Half Gringa "Wearing White"
5. Brendan Kelly & the Wandering Birds "Lay Me Down"
6. The Family Gold "The Sun Is Going Down"
7. Big Sadie "You Never Told Me"
8. ROOKIE "Head Over Heels"
9. The Dyes "Liza Jane"
10. Robbie Fulks "Lonely Ain't Hardly Alive"
11. Freakwater "Sway"
12. David Quinn "Long Time Gone"
13. The Hoyle Brothers "A Little Bit of Buck"
14. Bethany Thomas & Tawny Newsome "Dinosaur"
15. Sima Cunningham "Weeds and Daisies"
16. The Lawrence Peters Outfit "I Wrote You a Song"
17. Kelly Hogan "Gotta Have My Baby Back"
18. The Saluda Moonlighters "Honky Tonkin' in the Moonlight"
19. Los Gallos "Yeah Yeah Yeah"
20. Joybird "The Sweetness"
21. The Western Elstons "Toast That Lie"
22. The Handsome Family "Tower of Song"

Live events:

  • On November 9th at Workshop 4200 - Album Release Party, featuring performances by ROOKIE, Wild Earp & The Free For Alls, Big Sadie, David Quinn, and The Dyes
  • On November 17th at Empty Bottle for the Chicago Honky Tonk Matinee, featuring Kelly Hogan & The Western Elstons 
KFAI - Roar of the Underground
Leave a comment
Share this content
Related news

Bands Vandoliers cover The Proclaimers, plan 2020 tours

Posted Feb. 22, 2020, 10:20 a.m. in Bands by Loren

Texas country punks Vandoliers have released a new cover version of 1990s hit "I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles)"  (The ...

Records Waco Brothers' protest-themed Resist! collection

Posted Feb. 9, 2020, 10:28 a.m. in Records by Loren

It's 2020 and politics are sure to dominate the news cycle. Fittingly, The Chicago, based/UK-born country punk band ...

Labels Bloodshot signs Rookie

Posted Feb. 8, 2020, 11:26 a.m. in Labels by Loren

Chicago 6-piece Rookie have joined forces with Bloodshot Records to release a self-titled album on March 13. The dog-loving group ...

More from Labels

Labels 3 Merge releases for RSD

Posted March 7, 2020, 2:21 p.m. in Labels by Loren

When Record Store Day rears its head on April 18 this year, Merge Records will have three special, limited releases ...

Labels My Kid Brother and Fearless

Posted March 6, 2020, 8:46 p.m. in Labels by Loren

Fearless Records announced the signing of My Kid Brother this week, a group from Leesburg, VA. The band plays a ...

Labels 100th Three One G release is a Cramps cover comp

Posted Feb. 29, 2020, 11:21 a.m. in Labels by Loren

Release number 100 from San Diego's Three One G label is to be titled Really Bad Music for Really ...

KFAI - Root Of All Evil


Looking for the SPB logo? You can download it in a range of styles and colours here:

Click anywhere outside this dialog to close it, or press escape.