Recent news

Top stories

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis' Carnage

Posted Feb. 26, 2021, 8:38 p.m.
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis' Carnage

photo by Loren Green

Lockdown instances have led to many changes in the music industry -- one of which includes new experimental and collaborative projects. One of the latter includes an upcoming full-length album by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis, titled Carnage.

Ellis is a long-term member of Cave's backing band, The Bad Seeds, but Carnage marks his first album as a duo with just Cave. 

Created in lockdown, “Making Carnage was an accelerated process of intense creativity,” Ellis says of the process. "The eight songs were there in one form or another within the first two and a half days.”

Carnage is available now digitally, with a CD and vinyl release scheduled for April 28 via Goliath Records.


Carnage track listing:
1. Hand of God                          
2. Old Time                       
3. Carnage                            
4. White Elephant                               
5. Albuquerque                            
6. Lavender Fields                             
7. Shattered Ground                               
8. Balcony Man

( Read more )

Two Steve Von Till releases

Posted Feb. 26, 2021, 8:20 p.m.
Two Steve Von Till releases

photo by Bobby Cochran

Neurosis member and prolific artistist Steve Von Till has announced two new albums to come soon. One is an ambient album titled A Deep Voiceless Wilderness and the other is a spoken word poetry collection titled Harvestman: 23 Untitled Poems.

A Deep Voiceless Wilderness is described as "An achingly beautiful ambient work with neo-classical leanings, the album is a hallucinatory and elegant rumination on our disconnect from the natural world, each other, and ultimately ourselves."

Get a feel for it with first single, "The Emptiness Will Swallow Us All" (below).

Notably, it's also Von Till's first record where he does not play guitar, instead using varied instrumentation such as piano, cello, mellotron and analog synthesizers. 

Harvestman features Von Till reading from his previously published book, Harvestman: 23 Untitled Poems and Collected Lyrics. Both albums will release on Neurot Recordings on April 30.

A Deep Voiceless Wilderness Track Listing:
1. Called From the Wind2. We'll Always Have the Sea3. The Emptiness Swallows Us All4. Shelter in Surrender5. Nightshade High Country6. The Spiraling Away

Harvestman: 23 Untitled Poems Track Listing: I-V VI-XIIXIII-XVIII XIX-XXIII

( Read more )

KFAI - Undead
More recent headlines

Videos Gloom Culture Tell Ghost Stories in Lyric Video

Posted Feb. 26, 2021, 2:29 p.m.

Gloom Culture Tell Ghost Stories in Lyric Video

Gloom Culture have released the lyric video for their track, "Ghost Stories." Check it out below. You can stream and purchase their new album, Songs to Drown the Screams HERE.  

Records 2021 SNAFU LP

Posted Feb. 25, 2021, 9:13 p.m.


photo by Brian Sheehan / LGRDMAN

SNAFU -- or Situation Normal All Fucked Up for those who like wordier titles, return with their third full-length and first singe 2015 next month with Exile//Banishment, due for release on March 26 on Life ...

Records Wild Powwers share new song

Posted Feb. 25, 2021, 8:38 p.m.

Wild Powwers share new song

Wild Powwers, of Seattle, WA, are back with the new record, What You Wanted, due officially on April 23 through Nadine Records. The band is getting fans ready ahead of time in sharing "...Sucks," which ...

KFAI - Root Of All Evil

More recent news

Records One-sided Metz 7-inch single

Posted Feb. 25, 2021, 8:17 p.m. in Records by Loren

One-sided Metz 7-inch single

Metz - Acid/Slow Decay

Scheduled to release on March 12 on a limited, one-sided 7" courtesy of Three One G, Metz has a new single called “Acid/Slow Decay ...

Preorder the record.

( Read more )

MP3s Jello Biafra Celebrates Limbaugh’s Demise with New Single

Posted Feb. 25, 2021, 3:11 p.m. in MP3s by Campbell

Jello Biafra Celebrates Limbaugh’s Demise with New Single

Jello Biafra - "Blunder Blubber"

These days, you can find Bay Area hardcore legend Jello Biafra as politically charged as ever, elevating his Alternative Tentacles label as well as fronting ...

( Read more )

MP3s Bright Eyes Flirt With Covering Vic Chesnutt

Posted Feb. 25, 2021, 4:43 a.m. in MP3s by Aaron H

Bright Eyes Flirt With Covering Vic Chesnutt

Photo by Shawn Brackbill

Bright Eyes have released their cover of Vic Chesnutt's, "Flirted With You All My Life." The cover originally appeared on the vinyl single release ...

Records More Safety in 2021 -- starting with "Spanish Moss" video

Posted Feb. 21, 2021, 11:39 a.m. in Records by Loren

More Safety in 2021 -- starting with "Spanish Moss" video

photo by Justine Sweetman

Safety, who last released Congratulate Me, I've Lost My Mind in 2015, returned to action with a single last October called "Song of the ...

( Read more )

Shows See H20 live from home, at their home

Posted Feb. 21, 2021, 11:25 a.m. in Shows by Loren

See H20 live from home, at their home

photo by Loren Green

Bands continue to innovative and make performances interesting as they acclimate to the impracticality of concerts in the current environment. H20 has announced a set ...

Ticket bundles are available here.

( Read more )

Records Milo's Planes to release album one single at a time

Posted Feb. 20, 2021, 4:45 p.m. in Records by Loren

Milo's Planes to release album one single at a time

photo by Simon Holliday

Milo's Planes, who last released new much in 2017, will be issues their newest album a song-at-a-time in 2021 throughout the year. When all ...

Wreaths by Milo's Planes

( Read more )

MP3s Turquoise "Strawberry Daiquiri"

Posted Feb. 20, 2021, 12:29 p.m. in MP3s by Loren

Turquoise "Strawberry Daiquiri"

Turquoise, a mathy instrumental band from Lincoln, NE, has shared "Strawberry Daiquiri" form their upcoming EP due later this year. The three-piece pulls a variety ...

( Read more )

News navigation
» Next page
Search news


Looking for the SPB logo? You can download it in a range of styles and colours here:

Click anywhere outside this dialog to close it, or press escape.